Locker Room Talk: Jack Taylor- Mr. 138

A guy I know could simply be the best scorer on the basketball court. He has the NCAA for the most points in a game. We share something in common, shooting hoops, went to the same camp and also he’s a dad. Jack Taylor is a friend of mine. We went to a basketball camp together, and roomed together. I’d say he’s best basketball player I personal know. Maybe the second best dad next to me. A good friend, good husband, an honest dude, and overall great dad.How did basketball influence as a father?

Now that I am a father, I am making a conscience effort to apply what I’ve learned on the basketball court to my role as a father. Because quite honestly, being a father and a husband is more difficult than being a basketball player. But it’s more rewarding, too. Everything I have learned through the game of basketball (hard work, leadership, selflessness, etc.) I am using to raise my daughter.

Did you find out the sex of your daughter?

Christina and I didn’t have any sort of gender reveal party. We decided to make it a surprise. It was worth the wait!

With holding the NCAA scoring record, do you hope children break it?

I feel pretty confident that I am going to the grave with that record. Maybe in 25 years I will have a son or a daughter that goes to Grinnell College and breaks Dad’s record.

How do you balance work, being a dad and your faith?

Balancing my priorities in life is difficult. When things get hectic, I always remind myself of my priorities in life. For me, this is how they rank: Christian, Husband, Father, Work.

What’s next for you? Kids, basketball, career?

The future for me definitely includes more kids, God willing. I am done playing basketball, as my ACL-reconstructed knee can’t handle much impact anymore. I may coach my kids someday, but for now I am not going to coach. I became a Christian in college, which has become very rewarding and important in my life, and I would like to start a church in my hometown of Black River Falls, WI in a few years. A church that reaches men, a church that makes faith real instead of dry tradition and church appearances.

Would you say that your more of the hands on parent or is your wife?

My wife, Christina, stays at home with Abigail. We are convicted that we are ultimately responsible for Abigail’s upbringing, not a daycare or a school. We are blessed to be in a position financially for Christina to stay home while Abigail is young.

Any advice for upcoming dads?

 My advice to young men and future dad is to embrace fatherhood. Like boys, so many of us are scared of responsibility and commitment. Fatherless homes are one of the biggest problems in this country. When us young men decide to give our lives to and serve our wife and children, it’s not only rewarding but it’s what we are called to do as men.

Leave a Reply

