Double Check The Playbook

When you are packing your gym bag, you grab shoes, shorts and extra shit that you need. See I thought it was the same thing when packing the diaper bag. That’s a huge negative. I felt like I was getting ready for a four day hiking trip. Between bottles, diapers, blankets, and soothers I thought I had it all. Trust me, you need extra of everything.

The first time I went out with my daughter by myself, I felt like it was going to the weirdest thing to do. Why, you might ask, because I’ve never done anything like this. So the first place we go to is to look at dirt bikes.  We packed up the diaper bag, hopped in my truck and off we went. I decided we should stop at Yamaha and KTM. Well the Yamaha stop went off without a hitch.  As we started the drive to KTM, I smelt something nasty. Good thing KTM, wasn’t that far away. The smell got stronger as we got closer. We parked, I unbuckled the car seat, and the poop fumes crawled up into my nose. I am trying to be calm and cool as I walked through store. A salesman approached us; I felt this nervous feeling go through me. He said “Anything I can help you with?” In my mind I thought to myself “this is a shitty diaper and I don’t want to really talk to you.” I quickly walked by him without saying anything. The poor dude, I felt bad. But I had business to attend too.

Well this weird, the fucking men’s bathroom wasn’t equipped with a change station. This situation just got a bit shitter. But that’s how we roll, prepared for anything. I make a station on the counter, and started changing the diaper. Then I ran I out baby wipes. “Fuck me, I didn’t check” I whispered under my breath. Okay, okay, back up plan. Let me just grab some toilet paper, and soak it in warm water. All the sudden the door came open. It was a fellow dad. I asked him “Hey man, could I grab some baby wipes” Like a low key drug deal, he slid me some wipes. Lesson learned, pack extra shit. Also pack stuff for yourself too.

After that mess, we started to look at dirt bikes and sleds. Between the car seat, and diaper bag I slowly became tired. It almost felt a sled pull drill. Don’t drop the baby and hold the twenty pound diaper bag for an hour. But it’s about the gains bro. You got weights right there. Curl for the girls. Just don’t drop the baby.

Keep on Keeping on

 

 

Leave a Reply

